January 28, 2010

Snow and ice, not so nice

Posted in Uncategorized at 6:07 pm by ammiejo

The weather men and women are forecasting snow and ice for four area. They have us receiving anything from 1 to 10 inches. I’m not going to worry about it. It will either happen or not. I’m not concerned for my family. Don’t get me wrong, it would be inconvenient if the electricity goes out, but we have natural gas heat. So we’ll be warm, even if we don’t have electricity. My concern is for those whose primary source of heat is electricity. I’m praying that the storm doesn’t unleash so much ice as it does snow! We have our gas grill to cook on, so that’s covered for us too. I’ve got the batteries charging, the candles and oil lamps dug out.

On the plus side, it would mean dh gets to spend an unscheduled day off at home! Yay! Plus, plus think of all the fun we can have on the white stuff. The bad part of ice aside, it’s really fun to play on. Add some snow and woooohoooo! Just need to dig out the really warm coats, gloves, and hats.

I remember one winter, when I was 11 or 12, it snowed and iced! There was so much of it. We had a three wheeler and our neighbor had a four wheeler. My step dad and their dad pulled us around behind them on cardboard and an old car hood. LOL It was so much fun! Pink cheeks,  frozen fingers, fun, and lots of laughter! And then the hot chocolate. Oh yeah, the hot chocolate! With marshmallows! and not the freeze dried kind either!

Am I a mean mom because, snow or not, I plan for them to still do school? They can only play outside in the snow for so long. Right?

Off to cook some dinner. Later taters.

Leave a Reply

