January 25, 2010

The scale

Posted in diet, life at 6:51 pm by ammiejo

I’ve wanted to change my eating and exercise habit for so long. I told myself at the beginning of this year I would do it. And so I am. Changing I mean. I quit sugar and caffeine. The sugar didn’t bother me as much as the caffeine did. *I missed it*

Since then I’ve added caffeine back in the form of my morning only coffee. I’m so glad. So are my kids. The sugar. I’m using a sugar substitute now. Some of the substitutes aren’t so bad, but some just leave bad taste in my mouth.

I’m down 12 lbs now! Wooohooo! I’m so ashamed of what I weigh. What I did weigh. BUT I’m determined to do this. For me, for my husband, for my kids. I’m doing the South Beach Diet. Or my version anyway. I bought the book and I’m reading it and learning so much as I go.

The problem is the scale. No it isn’t what you think. My dear husband, bought me a really nice scale. It’s very accurate. One of the boys had a checkup couple of weeks ago. It’s on the dot with the dr’s scale. The problem is, I can’t stay away from it. I weigh myself at least once every day. At least. I know it’s a bad idea. Bad. Bad. BUT I can’t stop. Someone help me! It’s a terrible addiction.

Ammie

5 Comments »

  1. Wow, congrats on losing 12 pounds! That is amazing!! I’ll be cheering for you on your journey!

  2. WhoooHooo!!!!!!

    I weigh everyday (unless I fear I’m gaining. then I don’t, but it’s not because I think it isn’t a good idea.) If you understand that there may be some variances due to what you eat or where you are in your cycle or whatever, I don’t see any harm in it. It can even be helpful because if you start eating 3 bananas a day ~hey! they’re just fruit!~ and see that you are gaining or stalled, you might realize that bananas may not be your friend. kwim? (sorry banana board. i picked on you because your product isn’t good for me!)

    • ammiejo said,

      I guess I was just subscribing to the warnings to not weigh everyday, because you’ll get discouraged. I haven’t been discouraged…yet. I’ve really thought of it the way you described. And yeah bananas….I had no idea they were so high in carbs! I’ve even been encouraged when I weigh from day to day and see the numbers go down. I know it won’t always happen so quickly, so I’m enjoying watching the numbers go down!

  3. Megan said,

    it’s good to go through phases when you weigh every morning. and then it seems like there’s phases when doing so is almost unhealthy, or it rules your mind the rest of the day too much…at least that’s what i experience! i usually keep mine under the cabinet in my master bathroom, so i have to choose to get it out. keeps it out of sight and out of mind, so i don’t do it too much šŸ™‚ glad you’re seeing results!

  4. ammiejo said,

    That’s a good idea too, Megan. Mine is sitting out in the bathroom and I can see it every time I go in there! I really need to clean out the cabinets and find a space for it there. The princess loves to weigh herself on it every time she goes in there too!

    Thanks for coming by!

    AmmieJo


Leave a Reply

