January 21, 2010

Haircuts today!

Posted in kids, life at 7:09 pm by ammiejo

Today was haircut day! The boys have grown up going to a barber. My brother has gotten his hair cut there, my stepdad, and his adoptive dad (his maternal grandfather), have all gotten their haircut there. Dan, the barber man, is wonderful. He was patient through each of the boys “first” haircuts. Through years of Benjamin being so scared of people he had to sit on our lap to get his hair cut, and even then cried through the whole thing. He’s given them buzz cuts, spike hair cuts (all three went through a phase where they got it cut so it would spike), and regular little boy hair cuts. When we go, we have to wait….forever. I don’t want to wait 30 minutes and then wait an additional hour while they get their actual cuts.  Over time his prices have went up, not too much, a dollar here and there over the years. We started out getting their hair cut for $6 a piece, just recently it went from $8 to $10.  That’s considerably more than a salon in town that will do it for $5 per kid. Dh’s barber charges $7 per kid, but after one visit there I decided we would try the girl who cuts my hair.

Bethany. I love this girl. She cuts my hair, colors it (don’t tell, everyone thinks this is my natural color 😀 ), and styles it exactly like I ask her to. So I knew that if I took the boys there I would get it done, exactly the way I asked. She charges $8 per kid and I think it’s worth it to be able to go in, tell her how I want it done and walk out not feeling stressed because she didn’t listen.

So the boys all got their hair cut. It occurred to me that Princess could use a trim. Other than me cutting her bangs and trimming the very edges, she has never had a real haircut. But today, she did!

This was before.

She wanted to have a pink apron.

She sat so still! And this is what Bethany got when she told Princess to close her eyes, while she cut her bangs.

It was a wonderful experience! And I’m hoping that now that those scraggly ends are gone, the ends of her hair won’t tangle so badly! I didn’t get an after picture! How silly of me! Ah well! I’ll try to do that later!

Have a wonderful evening, all!

2 Comments »

  1. Jackie said,

    Hey Amee thanks for stopping by my blog, i am glad you enjoyed the post!

    Thanks goodness for the Holy Spirit of God to set us straight right!

    God Bless 🙂

  2. Lisa said,

    Awww, how cute! It’s almost time for my cut and color (I try not to tell, either).

    With my youngest, haircuts are always an adventure (he has autism). But he always looks SO cute afterward!

    God bless you,
    Lisa @ http://www.homesteadblogger.com/wyldhousehomestead

    http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/LisaCoburn

    http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/forgivenandfree (missionary blog)


Leave a Reply

