January 6, 2010

Lazies and Crazies

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , at 2:17 am by ammiejo

Yep. That’s what I’m calling it. The post Christmas break ‘lazies and crazies’. Why? Because the kids are not cooperating with school time or chore time. Any need for extra help is being met with whines and moans. Not mine. Well, not too often anyway. But seriously, the boys want to do only what they have to do. They aren’t being loving, respectful, or kind to each other. Which is lazy and crazy. They expect to be treated a certain way from their brothers and sister, but no one is holding up their end of the deal. So it’s all out of whack. I’m done playing referee. I need to get back to being the coach. I’ve got to lay out my game plan. 🙂

I guess it’s time for a Mommy Boot Camp of sorts. Or Kiddie Boot Camp, mommy director. Either way, we can’t function like this! So it’s like starting at day 1. Show love for each other. Do what your asked, when your asked. No excuses. Stay focused on your school work. Do your chores. Be helpful. Be kind. Be joyful. Be a friend. Have self control. Be obedient. I’m sure there is more. But right now, that’s where we need to focus.

And if I’m being honest, and I want to be honest. This is my fault. I’ve let it get this far because I was enjoying the break and I let too much slide. Too many incidents of letting them put self first. Too much of mommy putting self first. It has to be Jesus. Others. Yourself. Or it just doesn’t work. We just need to relearn that. Be reminded of it.

So that’s what we are doing this week. Reminding ourselves to not be lazy about thinking of others. Don’t be driving momma crazy with the tattling and whining. Do what your asked (Ephesians 6:1)  and do it to the best of your ability(Colossians 3:23). So that’s our focus for the next little while.

We’ll be sticking with our schedule as much as is possible. God has really blessed us this fall/winter. Other than the flu that Brennen and I had, and some minor things, we have all been healthy. Which to me is amazing, because there has been a lot of sickness around us. I’m very grateful for that.

And now I’m ready to go to bed. Discussing building a house with the husband is stressful. Especially about the school room. *sigh* Even if we are just dreaming.

I’ll let you know how the boot camp goes. 😉 Got to get that game plan together again.

1 Comment »

  1. Megan said,

    those are great goals!!


Leave a Reply

