December 16, 2009

Random thoughts

Posted in life, Random at 4:14 pm by ammiejo

The best of my intentions doesn’t get me very far. Waiting for inspiration or motivation, hasn’t been any help either. I suppose I just need to get to it. Seriously. With Amiah’s birthday before Christmas, it’s been hard to get into Christmas planning mode and mood. I was so focused on her birthday and planning it that I lost sight of what I intended to do during the month of December for Christmas. And now with only 9 days left until Christmas, 8 of those shopping days, time is short. The biggest part of my buying is finished. I just have a few other things to pick up. But I’m stuck as to what I should get. These are those people I find it hardest to buy for!

We are starting our Christmas break Friday. No school. Thursday afternoon will be the last bit of school we will do until after the New Year. I’m relieved. I need a break as much as the kids do.

I have lots of other things that I want to do though. Sewing, baking, candy making, visiting, singing, playing, and more! I can’t wait! I get excited when I think of how much fun the kids have when we bake and make candy. I am excited about paying visits to friends and delivering our goodies. Listening to Christmas music and singing along. And….not fussing at anyone to “focus on your school work!” It sounds like heaven. 🙂 Although, keeping them kind of busy is important. Too much, nothing to do time, and they start to pick fights and fuss with each other.

We took Amiah to her Christmas party. They had a letter for the kids to fill out to Santa. Amiah asked for a hula hoop, and Woody and Bullseye. (She still loves that movie! As many princess movies as she owns and loves, it always comes back to the Toy Story movies!) Amiah gave her letter to Santa, told him what she wanted, smiled for the picture, and then took her present from Mrs. Mary. We went to the next room, out of Santa’s and his helpers way. She ripped the paper off of that thing so fast, and then the tears started. “I I-I-I w-w-wanted B-B-Bulls-Eye and W-W-Woody. It’s my faaavorite tooooy!” It took Stacy and I 15 minutes to convince her she would get other presents, that Christmas isn’t over. It’s a good thing we already knew that’s what she wanted or we would be in BIG trouble!

Tonight is the night that we are having a Christmas party for the kids in our Wednesday night class. We’re doing pizza, cupcakes, a couple of games and a goody bag. It should be fun! I’m still trying to think of one more game. Something simple, but fun for the kids.

I know there was more I wanted to write. I’ve sat down here and got back up again, no less than 7 times. No wonder I can’t remember. And now it’s time to head to town for errands! Have a good evening all!

Leave a Reply

